Board of Directors

Thierry Kalanquin - Non-Executive Chairman

Prior to his current role as Senior Vice President, Energy and Marine Infrastructure in Naval, Thierry Kalanquin held a number of senior executive roles with several industrial and automotive organisations, including Valéo and Möller. He is a graduate of ESCP (École Supérieure de Commerce de Paris).

Frank Le Rebeller - Non-Executive Director

Frank joined Naval as Deputy Managing Director with responsibility for Finance, Legal and Procurement. Previously Frank held lead finance roles in MBDA , Airbus and has further significant industrial experience in both Europe and the United States.

Brendan Gilmore - Non-Executive Director

Brendan Gilmore is a founding shareholder of OpenHydro and held the position of Chairman of OpenHydro Group Ltd between 2005 and 2013. With a proven track record of developing successful businesses, Brendan has held positions including Chairman and Chief Executive of a UK plc. Amongst other significant interests, he has managed a financial consultancy for over 20 years and was formerly a partner in a major chartered accountancy practice.

Patrick Asple - Non-Executive Director

Patrick Asple is a chartered management accountant who has significant experience in the renewable energy sector in Ireland and overseas. He holds a number of directorships in the food, property, waste management and energy sectors.

Frédéric Le Lidec - Non-Executive Director

Frédéric Le Lidec is the deputy director of Naval Marine Renewable Energy business unit which includes floating wind, wave and ocean thermal energy conversion. Since joining the company in 1990, he has held several positions from project management to business development within the DCNS group. Frédéric is an Engineering and MBA graduate.

Gwenael Ropars - Non-Executive Director

Prior to joining DCNS as General Counsel, Gwenael Ropars held legal positions in Asia, France, Canada, England and most recently for Alstom in Switzerland. He is a graduate of Paris I and Paris II Universities.

Christophe Lorin - Non-Executive Director

Christophe Lorin is VP Finance of Naval Energies. Prior to joining Naval in 2003, he started his career at EY in London and qualified as a Chartered Accountant. He held a number of finance positions within the group involving long term contracts, transfer of technology and financial engineering. He is a graduate from EDHEC business school and holds a MBA degree from INSEAD.

Christian Richard - Non-Executive Director

Christian Richard is Vice President, Special Projects at Emera Inc. where he is engaged in business development projects focused on providing cleaner affordable energy. Christian brings expertise in the energy sector and industrial operations, having held senior roles at an electric utility and an international forestry company. Christian holds an engineering degree from the University of New Brunswick and a MBA from l’Université de Moncton.

Wallace Corporate Council - Company Secretary

Wallace, Corporate Counsel is a specialist corporate legal practice and are providing corporate support to the OpenHydro Board and team.

Wallace Corporate Council works closely with leading Irish entrepreneurs, growth-oriented private companies and investors and operating across a range of industry sectors. Their team has forged a strong reputation for valued strategic legal advice and for linking investors to attractive investment opportunities.